In Summary
  • National women’s cricket teams from nine countries, including Tanzania, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda and Zimbabwe, will compete in the ICC World Cup qualifiers

Dar es Salaam. Tanzania Cricket Association (TCA) has unveiled a 14-member squad of the national women’s team for the 2019 ICC World Cup qualifiers scheduled for May 3-13 in Harare, Zimbabwe.

The players earned calls to the team following their impressive performances in this year’s TCA National Championship, which came to a close last week in Dar es Salaam.

The TCA National Championship featured regional teams from Arusha, Morogoro, Tanga, Mwanza and hosts Dar es Salaam.

Tanga, coached by Riziki Kiseto, were crowned national champions, while Morogoro’s Uluguru Stars and Dar es Salaam finished second and third respectively.

Unveiling the squad yesterday, Hamisi Abdallah – one of the team’s coaches – said he was optimistic the young ladies will shine in Zimbabwe. The team, which is expected to leave for Harare early next month, is a blend of old guards and new faces.

Vastly-experienced players in the squad include Monica Pascal and Fatuma Omar, both from Morogoro.

Others are Linda Justice, Neema Justine, Getrude Leopord, Perice Zakayo, Zinakia Kelvin (Arusha); Shufaa Hamza and Hudaa Mrisho (Tanga).

Also on the list are Saumu Godfrey, Nuru Omary, Tabu Said, Tatu Bakari and Nasra Nassoro all from Dar es Salaam.

“Players making up our national squad for the ICC World Cup qualifiers were selected on merit,” said Abdallah.

The players are now undergoing residential training at Muhimbili Cricket Academy in Dar es Salaam ahead of the qualifiers billed to be tough but e+xciting.

The national women’s cricket team has competed in the World Cup qualifying series several times, but to no avail.

Sanctioned by the world cricket governing body (ICC), the qualifiers are held after every two years. Next month qualifiers will take place at three venues – Harare Sports Club, Old Hararians and Takashinga Cricket Club grounds.

Zimbabwe also hosted the last two World Cup qualifiers and capitalised on home ground to sail through.

Besides Tanzania, the Harare qualifiers will also feature Kenya, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Uganda and hosts Zimbabwe.

The Tanzanian young ladies will launch their campaign in the qualifiers against hosts Zimbabwe on May 6.

It remains to be seen if Tanzania will this time qualify for ICC World Cup.